Mercedes-AMG Motorsports

Motorsport is what drives us


Motivated by a belief and desire to succeed, Hans Werner Aufrecht and Erhard Melcher laid the foundation for AMG back in 1967. Boundless passion for motorsports paved the way for legendary achievements and continues to leave its mark on the spirit of our brand to the present day.

Formula 1

The pinnacle of motorsport

Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport

Mercedes-Benz has been competing in Formula 1 with its own works team since 2010. In the 2012 season, AMG became involved in the programme as well so that the team is now running under the Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team banner. The squad is building on a long racing heritage of the brand with the three-pointed star, already having been involved in motorsport’s premier category in 1954 and 1955 and having won the world championship crown with Juan-Manuel Fangio in both years.

Michael Schumacher and Nico Rosberg were the first drivers for the team in the modern era. The third round of the 2012 season saw the breakthrough: Nico Rosberg’s commanding win in the China Grand Prix marked the first victory for a works Mercedes since 1955.

Following Michael Schumacher’s retirement, Lewis Hamilton joined the team in 2013 and clinched the world championship crown in the following year. Team-mate Nico Rosberg became runner-up. With three races to spare, the Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team had already sealed the FIA Formula 1 constructors’ world championship title.

The 2015 season saw the team do even better: with twelve 1-2 finishes from 19 races, the team topped its own record from the previous year. Once again, Lewis Hamilton won the drivers’ world championship while the team successfully defended the constructors’ title.

Records in Formula 1

Yet another improvement was achieved in 2016: the Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team racked up 765 points and scored a total of 19 race wins and 20 pole positions from 21 rounds, Formula 1 records that resulted into another constructors’ title. Nico Rosberg became the world champion and became the third Silver Arrow champion in Formula 1 history after Fangio and Hamilton.

Following Nico Rosberg’s retirement, Valtteri Bottas became the new full-time driver next to Lewis Hamilton in 2017. In spite of the change in the line-up, the Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team remained on course for success: with a repeated title win in the drivers’ world championship by Hamilton, the Mission #4TheTeam – the fourth consecutive win of both Formula 1 world championship titles – was accomplished.

In 2018, Lewis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas racked up 25 podium finishes behind the wheel of the Silver Arrows including eleven wins and, after 21 races, sealed the drivers’ and constructors’ world championship for the fifth time.

The Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team started off its 2019 season with five consecutive 1-2s and won 15 of the year’s 21 races, nine of them with a 1-2. As a result, the team secured the manufacturers’ title once again while Lewis Hamilton was crowned as the world champion for the sixth time.

The year 2020 faced the entire sport with a major challenge, but in a season that was extraordinary in many ways, the Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team remained on course for success: the team ended up in first place of the constructors’ championship while Lewis Hamilton again managed to defend his drivers’ title. Behind the wheel of the Mercedes-AMG F1 W11 EQ Performance, Valtteri Bottas became runner-up in the drivers’ standings. Moreover, victory for Lewis in the ‘Großer Preis der Eifel’ marked his 91st race win in Formula 1, equalling Michael Schumacher’s record of the most race wins. In the Portuguese Grand Prix, a fortnight later, Lewis again was the fastest driver in the field and has been the sole record holder ever since. With the strong achievements, the team improved its own Formula 1 record: no other team secured seven consecutive 1-2s in the 70-year history of the sport.

Kraftstoffverbrauch kombiniert: 11.1 l/100 km | CO2-Emissionen kombiniert: 255 g/km | Emissionsangabe [1]

Mercedes-AMG Safety Cars and Medical Cars

Moreover, the performance and sports car brand from Affalterbach has been playing another leading role in the pinnacle of motorsport for over two decades already: since 1996, Mercedes-AMG has been supplying the official Safety Cars in Formula 1 whilst also providing additional safety with its Medical Cars.

Mercedes-AMG Customer Racing

Gentlemen, start your engines

Visit the Mercedes-AMG Customer Racing website to learn more about our racing vehicles and to get the latest news from the world of motorsports.
Go to website


An era of success


An era of success

With a triple title win, the unparalleled DTM era of Mercedes-AMG Motorsport came to an end in October 2018. A total of eleven drivers’ titles, 14 teams’ and seven manufacturers’ titles add up to an outstanding record of success.

Back in 1986 already, the three-pointed star caught the attention in the DTM. The first achievements with the Mercedes-Benz 190 E 2.3-16 to Group A regulations led to a motorsport co-operation between AMG and Mercedes-Benz and the official participation of Mercedes-Benz as a factory team in the Deutsche Tourenwagen Meisterschaft. The first joint car was the AMG-Mercedes 190 E 2.5-16 Evolution II that scored numerous race wins. Klaus Ludwig secured the maiden DTM championship title with an AMG Mercedes in the 1992 season.

Three years later, it was Bernd Schneider’s star that started to shine: the current Mercedes-AMG brand ambassador drove the competition touring car based on the C-Class (model range 202) to win the DTM/ITC (International Touring car Championship) titles. In the following years, his record of success would increase to five DTM titles and 43 race wins, a record that will probably remain unbeaten for a long time to come.

A fitting conclusion to an outstanding era

With the successor model ranges of the C-Class and the CLK, numerous race wins and titles were scored in the DTM as well. In 2015, Pascal Wehrlein became the youngest DTM champion in history one day before his 21st birthday and thus also contributed to the teams’ title (gooix/Original-Teile Mercedes-AMG).

In the farewell season 2018, the Mercedes-AMG C63 DTM run by HWA again scored a firework of success: 20 races resulted into nine wins and 14 pole positions for Mercedes-AMG Motorsport. The manufacturers’ crown could already be sealed on the penultimate race weekend.

In the brand’s 436th and final DTM race, Gary Paffett secured his second drivers’ title after 2005. The teams’ championship went to Stuttgart and Affalterbach, too: Mercedes-AMG Motorsport PETRONAS (363 points) ended up ahead of Mercedes-AMG Motorsport REMUS (P2, 294 points). A deserved crown to conclude an outstanding era of 30 years!



Related Content

Das Bild zeigt den Mercedes-AMG GT3 und GT4

Mercedes-AMG Motorsport News

Latest news on Mercedes-AMG motorsports.

Das Bild zeigt den Mercedes-AMG GT3

Mercedes-AMG GT3

New standards in terms of performance, safety, reliability, handling and ergonomics.

Das Bild zeigt den Mercedes-AMG GT4

Mercedes-AMG GT4

The perfect entry into the world of motorsports.