Mercedes-AMG Motorsport


  • For over 25 years, Mercedes-AMG has been the team to beat in the DTM making the C-Class the most successful touring car in the world.

    Mercedes-Benz has become the most successful marque ever in the DTM—having secured ten drivers’ titles, 13 team and six manufacturers’ titles.

    The achievements and consecutive wins began with the entry into touring car racing in 1986.

    In its debut season, the team recorded several wins, for example at the Avus in Berlin. This first respectable success with the 190 E 2.3-16 led to a motorsport cooperation agreement with Mercedes-Benz in 1988. The first car that emerged from this cooperation was the 190 E 2.5-16 EVO, which won numerous races. At the end of a thrilling season, followed at the racetracks and on television by a total of 153 million spectators, Klaus Ludwig was crowned as the first DTM champion with an AMG Mercedes in 1992.

    1995 was Bernd Schneider’s first successful year: now a Mercedes-AMG brand ambassador, he was overall DTM/ITC winner with a C-Class (W202 series) in 1995, and brought his total to five DTM titles and 43 race wins in the following years – a record which is unlikely to be broken for a long time to come. But an exciting race series like the DTM never stands still: Mercedes-AMG continued to compete with the C-Class successor series and with the CLK, winning numerous races and titles.

    Pascal Wehrlein scored the most recent title for the Mercedes-AMG DTM Team as he became the 2015 DTM drivers’ champion and contributed to the teams’ title (gooix/Original-Teile Mercedes-AMG). In 2016, the Mercedes-AMG DTM Team drivers achieved 15 podium finishes between them, including four race wins.

    During the 2017 season, Mercedes-AMG Motorsport will be campaigning six cars run by HWA (Mercedes-AMG C 63 DTM) in the DTM again, with the goal to build on the successful history of Mercedes-Benz and AMG in the DTM.

    More about Mercedes-AMG Motorsport DTM:

    Do you own a Mercedes-AMG?

    Be part of the AMG community - exclusively for Mercedes-AMG owners!

    Take your place in the AMG Private Lounge! The online community for drivers who revel in the performance, efficiency, precision, craftsmanship, luxury, and safety that is AMG. Here you’ll access unique AMG insider news, connect with other Mercedes-AMG owners and explore exclusive in-depth information. Experience the AMG Private Lounge and don’t miss our exclusive AMG events!


    Mercedes-AMG GT R: Fuel consumption combined: 11.4 l/100 km | CO2 emissions combined: 259 g/km | Emission Statement [1]